WWW Wednesdays Jan 9

Is it really Wednesday? It doesn’t feel like it to me – busy busy few days, feels like it should be Thursday at least. But the calendar says it’s Wednesday, so I’m going to give this meme a shot! It comes from shouldbereading, though I found it through BVC.

All you have to do is answer these questions: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? and What are you planning to read next? (I totally read those questions in the Monty Python “what is your favourite colour?” voice. I hope you did too.)

currently reading

  • ROYAL ASSASSIN by Robin Hobb – second book in the trilogy; I really liked the first book, so far I’m not in love with the second, but I’ll reserve judgement until I’m finished the trilogy.
  • The Complete Works of Shakespeare – I’m on the poetry section
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker – started reading this ages ago mostly because I felt I should, and it’s really not grabbing me. We’ll see if I push through (I’m not that far in, maybe it gets better?) or abandon ship.

recently finished

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by JK Rowling – a Christmas/souvenir from her trip to England present to me from my sister πŸ™‚
  • Shakespeare’s Sonnets – holy angst batman! Okay love poetry is usually pretty high up the angst scale already, but I was not expecting these levels. For some reason. Not sure why.

plan to read next

  • Shakespeare’s The Tempest – can you tell I’m starting to work my way through my Complete Works of Shakespeare? Once I finish the poetry section, I think The Tempest will be the first play I read. Both because it’s the first play in my copy, and because I have a dvd of Stratford’s production starring Christopher Plummer that I haven’t watched yet.
  • Le Torrent par Anne HΓ©bert – as mentioned in my 2013 goals post, I want to read more in my 3 non-English languages this year, to make sure I don’t lose them
  • Livy book 1 – see above
  • Homer, Iliad book 1 – ditto
  • as for science fiction/fantasy…. I’m not sure what I want to read when I’m finished Royal Assassin. The top two contenders are HEART SECRET by Robin D. Owens, and THE SERPENT SEA by Martha Wells, which I just got as Christmas and birthday presents respectively from my dad.

How about you?

13 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays Jan 9

    1. lillianwheeler Post author

      That’s exactly why I picked up Robin Hobb – heard lots of good things and had never gotten around to reading any.

      And yes I’m reading the Complete Works of Shakespeare – in small bits πŸ˜› it will probably take me ages to get through it.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesdays: Jan 9 « Pride in Madness

    1. lillianwheeler Post author

      Yeah, I was the same way with Shakespeare. Now I’m finished school and figured I always enjoyed the plays I was told to read, so I may as well check out the others too. As for Robin Hobb, I did really enjoy the first book of the Farseer trilogy, Assassin’s Apprentice. Very good book.

      Reply
  2. Irish

    Its always sad when the second book in a series doesn’t live up to the first. Hopefully the book will get better for you as it progresses.I also love all things Shakespeare. I was a science major in school and my adviser really looked at me funny when I begged to find a way to take a course on Shakespeare but it was worth it. I hope that you are enjoying his works.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

    Reply
    1. lillianwheeler Post author

      Awesome, another reason to start with that play πŸ™‚
      If I had to pick a favourite Shakespeare play, I’d probably have to pick Twelfth Night for the same reason – I’ve seen a couple different great performances, and one truly amazing one.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

